Skip to content

Going To Great Lengths – Part Two

October 14, 2009

Well dear readers, it has been 1 week since the installation of my hair extensions. I have a few tidbits to share regarding my experience thus far.

First of all, although this is my first experience with bonded extensions, I did have a weave many years ago. The ease of washing and caring for the bonded extensions is a huge win. With the weave, washing between the cornrows on my head was a time-consuming process. These additions wash like your normal hair! A great pleasure. And the three hours it took to dry and style the weave was no picnic either. The bonded extensions dry rather quickly and look great with out too much additional fuss. I am now at the point where I can wash, dry and style in 45 minutes!

If you recall in part one of this series, I mentioned the first night trying to sleep in them was not restful. I am happy to say that sleep number 2 was much easier and I barely notice them whilst lounging on my pillow now. I do however continue to turn-in for the night with the extensions in a loose braid.

Another bit of info is to remind the person applying the extensions to leave a sufficient amount of your own hair at the nape of your neck to cover the adhesive. Mine did not, which means I can only wear a low ponytail. A higher one would result in a bad Brittany Spears look I’m just not interested in imitating…

I can not complete this post without mentioning length. If you’ve looked at my after shot, I’m sure you noticed an extreme amount of hair. It was fun for the first 2 days, but after that, the longest lengths started to bother me. They are too heavy to hold a curl regardless of the amount of product I apply to them and just look stringy and hang there.  Stacey will be making that go away shortly as we have decided to cut 4” or 5” off for better movement and style.

And so I continue on my long hair journey. So far, so good. I have been told they make me look taller, thinner and younger (all good things!). Every day I learn better ways to care for them and how to make them look better. The experiment goes on and I will of course keep you posted! If you have any suggestions or comments I haven’t mentioned, please feel free to share them. And of course, we always welcome questions. Have a Happy Hair Day all!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 15, 2009 12:14 AM

    Continue to look fantastic with beautiful hair extensions in Vancouver, try Hair Extensions Vancouver

Leave a Reply

