Skip to content

Going to Great Lengths – The End, The Short End…

December 9, 2009

The time arrived a little while ago where I was dying (hah! Get it?) to remove my extensions. About a month and a half in, the bonds were starting to make me a little crazy. The hair that my head would have naturally shed over this time was still stuck within the bonds and starting to dread around the hair that was still attached to making them rather uncomfortable. The bonds were starting to split and catch other hairs (ouch!) And, as I mentioned in the last extension post, they were rather dry looking…

I resisted the urge for another couple of weeks before I made the decision to remove them. When the day finally arrived, I made my way to a beauty supply store to pick up some bond remover and spent 4 quality hours in my bathroom with the solution and a pair of pliers. Removal was uncomfortable at best. There were quite a few tangles that were challenging to remove. After they were all finally out however, I experienced a couple of crazy feelings:

First of all, the sensation of running my fingers through my hair was absolute heaven. After 2 months of not being able to do it, this simple pleasure was complete bliss. And don’t even get me started on washing… For the first time in what felt like forever, I was able to reach and thoroughly clean my scalp!

Secondly, almost immediately after they were out, I missed the length. It’s quite a shock to loose that much hair as some of you may know if you’ve been through it with your own hair. Same sensation here. I wanted my mid-back length back!

I’ve since decided to commit to growing my own hair. In the meantime, I will go through the awkward stages, however, this time I’ll do it with a bit of help. Stacey has suggested I get a set of clip-in extensions for evenings on the town. They are not nearly as time-consuming as bonded hair, are quite inexpensive in comparison and can look rather natural. It is after all how all the Hollywood starlets do it! How else could those ladies go from chin length bob to hair down to their bums in mere days?

Not only can clip-ins give you length, they also allow you to funk-up the look of your tresses without damage. Think about a few pieces of really cool colour to match your outfit for the evening…

My bonded extensions and I experienced quite the journey, and I still think back on the love/hate relationship I had with them. So, until my real hair is there, clip-ins it is!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2009 11:23 AM

    Sorry for commenting OFFTOPIC – what WordPress theme do you use? It’s looking awesome!!

    • December 14, 2009 11:39 PM

      Thanks so much! We use Vigilance and have customized the header and colours.

Leave a Reply

